Because of the intense rising number of uninsured drivers in the state of California and the problems that have arisen as a result, California passed a law many years ago requiring all drivers to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance, regardless of cost or driving ability. These minimum requirements including $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person liability coverage and/or $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident liability coverage – combined with $5,000 of liability coverage for property damage. These minimum coverage amounts have remained unchanged for over a decade, but they may not be the right choice for a large amount of drivers.
With coverage limits dating back to days before the new millennium, the minimum liability insurance limits do not take into account years of inflation, including the cost to repair a vehicle and rising medical costs. As a result, the typical accident may cost a driver upwards of $50,000 in liability damages, an amount the minimum auto insurance requirement would not provide. So where would the remaining sum come from? Unfortunately, from your own pocket as the result of a lawsuit.
Whether you have tickets, accidents, even a DUI, we can help you find the right auto insurance carrier with prices that won’t break your budget. Search our site for quotes from multiple carriers or contact our auto insurance brokers for your consultation today.